Return to the Growing from Seed Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Penstemon

Posted by jrgardner z8b FL (My Page) on
Wed, Mar 8, 06 at 14:12

I've been starting perennials from seed for a few years and typically have pretty good luck (great windows and plenty of room certainly helps). I understand Penstemon needs light to germinate, but are there any other things I need to do. I've struck out twice (I haven't completely give up hope), so any help would be appreciated!

Thanks,
JR

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Penstemon

• Posted by morz8 Z8 Wa coast (My Page) on
    Wed, Mar 8, 06 at 14:57

You might read through this from the Clothier's website...

Here is a link that might be useful: Penstemon

o

Has anyone gotten penstemon seed to work? I just went outside and grabbed some seed heads and have decided to see if they'll germinate on some seed starting mixture (under plastic of course). Do think I'll have a chance - I figure they've gone through all the cold-warm cycles being outside throughout the winter.

Note - I've only had one volunteer from my original plants after 3 years in the garden...

o

That was an interesting read. I love wintersow seeds because that's when i begin having gardening withdrawals lol.

o

I've had pretty good success with germinating several different kinds of penstemon by wintersowing the seeds on the soil surface. They seem to like the combination of light and cold. Examples include: penstemon barbatus "jingle bells", navigator, rondo, white plains, rocky mountain blue, smallii.

Lois in Pa

o

I winter sowed several different penstemon types (Mystica, Esprit & P. strictus 'Rocky Mountain') from traded seeds and not only did they all sprout, they grew into good-sized healthy plants. They're excellent winter sowing candidates. To be quite honest, EVERYTHING I winter sowed grew into healthy, beautiful plants and many bloomed first year from seed including two dwarf hollyhocks, lupine, turtlehead, butterfly bush & blackberry lily.

o