Return to the Growing from Seed Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Meaning of true leaves

Posted by 67jayhawk none (My Page) on
Tue, Mar 29, 11 at 15:20

I'm a newbie. Am growing tomatoes from seeds. I hear the term true leaves. Is that the two leaves I first see or the leaves that are starting to grow in between them? My plants are about 2-3 inches high and I've transplanted about 25% to larger 16 oz. cups. Am I too early for that? I'm in mid-Kansas and don't know my zone. Will probably have more "dumber than dirt" questions. Appreciate any advice.

Jerry

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Meaning of true leaves

Jerry, the first pair of leaves you see are the "seed leaves" or the cotyledons. The next pair of leaves are the true leaves. Usually it is safe to transplant when you get 2 sets of true leaves.

o

Thanks

o

jayhawk,

No question is "dumber than dirt". We were all beginners at one time. I consider myself to be an intermediate now, but still have plenty to learn. (In fact, that's one of the best things about gardening, there always seems to be more to learn!)

A few tips for "potting up" (transplanting to a larger container before their final home) tomatoes:

1) when transplanting tomatoes, any part of the stem buried under the ground level will grow roots. Therefore, it is often best to bury them right up to their seed leaves when transplanting. This will help to bolster the root system.

2) when transplanting tomatoes, be sure to handle them by the "seed leaves". DO NOT HANDLE THEM BY THE STEMS! The seed leaves are less delicate, and are temporary, so if any damage is done to them during transplanting, it is not that serious. If any damage happens to the stem, it is more than likely permanent.