Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jackie7246

Starting seeds in a cold frame?

jackie7246
14 years ago

I was wondering if someone could help me? I live in the Buffalo area (zone 6)and just purchased a cold frame greenhouse and my question is about starting seeds in it. We have been experiencing some cold nights in he 20s for the past couple of days and the days are in the 40s. The temp in the greenhouse anytime I walk in there is pretty warm for example its 43 degrees right now and its 86 in the greenhouse. I started to put some seeds in there last week and i was wondering was I to early with them and if I was when should I have started them. I love starting my garden by seeds and last year we did it on my dinning room table but with the marks that the trays left last year there is so way I could do that again. Please help with any advice or sites that I could read I am a newbie and really want to learn. Thank you soooo very much

Jackie

Comments (2)

• digdirt2
    14 years ago

Need some clarification Jackie. Is this a cold frame or a greenhouse? Very different things. I will assume it is a GH since you mention "walking in.

If so then yes it is well past time in your zone to start seeds in a GH. HOWEVER some heat for it may be required on especially cold nights. Right now we are having to heat the GHs an average of 1-2 nights a week and that will continue here until about the 12th of April. And some method of cooling it will be required almost everyday now.

You have discovered one of the advantages/disadvantages of a GH - too hot in the day and too cold at night unless you have an insulated structure and learning how to balance the too is one of the primary challenges of GH growing. ;) The goal is to keep the air temps at plant height between 45 and 70 max. (65 is better)