Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jparadise81

How to start various vines

JParadise81
12 years ago

Hello everyone, Ive been lurking through the site for a while but recently decided to join and ask some questions. Im a newb so plaease go easy on me!

I have about 80ft of a wrought iron fence that I have been wanting to cover with something to provide some privacy in our backyard, without completely losing the openness feeling. We decided against tall hedges and think some vines will be the way to go. Before making the investment for crossvine, we want to plant some annual vines to make sure we like the look. So I went to the local garden store and picked up some hyacinth bean vine seed, cardinal climber seed, and cypress vine seed. The gal there suggested I purchase 36 cocomut coir pots (smaller ones) and a 20lb bag of lady bug brand seed starter which together cost me about $25. She just said fill the pots put the seed in,lightly water, then plant the pots in April. Not much direction.

I was at Lowes today and saw the little greenhouse that has 72 peat pellets and decided to pick one of these up as it was only $6, much cheaper than the supplies I previously purchased. Plus I saw a video on utube which showed how to use it. So my first question is, which method should I do to germinate my seeds and why? Which will give me the best results? IS the extra money going to be worth it over the cheaper little greenhouse?

I plan to put these under a flourescent one the seedlings sprout, but have no idea how long I should let these grow indoors...so when should they be transferred outside?

Thanks for your help!

Comments (3)

• JParadise81
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Also, will the hyacinth bean, cypress vine, or cardinal climber seeds need to be soaked in water for any amount of time before sowing?

• digdirt2
    12 years ago