Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jleighb67

Starting seeds on Frontporch?

jleighb67
10 years ago

This is my first time to start seeds. I had planned to do this in the basement with lights. Wondering if its possible to do this on my enclosed front porch but has windows all the way around? Would it be too cold to do this? I live in Indiana with lows in the 20's and 30's.
Thank you in advance for any info provided!

(vegetable plants...tomato and peppers mostly.)

Comments (7)

• dowlinggram
    10 years ago

Yes 20' and 30';s are too cold. If you are using lights you don't need any other light, Growing in windows is not good either. Because of the eaves on most houses there is not enough direct sunlight and you'll end up with leggy plants.

Your best bet is the basement under lights

• digdirt2
    10 years ago

Yeah you don't mention the temp inside the porch. Is it heated? Since both tomatoes and peppers require 65-80 degree soil temps to germinate it will be hard to get that out on the porch. Will you be using heat mats or what?

Dave

• floral_uk z.8/9 SW UK
    10 years ago

Few people in the UK, other than commercial growers, use lights for seed starting but many use windowsills successfully. I would say that, with care, you could start seeds in your porch. But the temperature would be an issue unless you can get a heat mat or heated propagator. I start many seeds in a heated propagator inside my porch.

Alternatively, you could put the containers in a warm place indoors, like on top of the boiler or fridge, until the seeds germinate and then, the minute you see a shoot, put them straight out in the glazed porch.

Your seed trays/pots will need to be right up against the glass and you will need to turn them a little every day. Leggy tomatoes are not the end of the world because you can plant them out deeper and they will grow new roots from the stem.