Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jane4667

New to Seed Starting

jane4667
13 years ago

Hi All,

I have a few specific questions regarding seed starting. I have been gardening for five years, but every year, I've been spending $70 on vegetables. I figured for around the same price, I could start my own seeds this year. Anyways, I was planning on getting this light from home depot:

http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1v/R-100180403/h_d2/ProductDisplay?langId=-1&storeId=10051&catalogId=10053

I am going to put this indoors, so I don't know what to hang it from. I don't really want to spend $80 on a shelving system, so does anyone have any good ideas? Also, I was planning on getting these flats from Park Seeds (and also a variety of seeds from here):

http://www.parkseed.com/gardening/PD/96376

I am going to go with the 48 cells. Has anyone bought seeds from Parks?

I also am not sure where to get the soil. Can anyone recommend this?:

http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductDisplay?langId=-1&storeId=10051&catalogId=10053&productId=100582409&R=100582409

Those are all of the things I can think of now, I also have seaweed and fish fertilizer, so I think otherwise I have everything. Are there other things I should be getting?

I also have had lettuce and spinach seeds sealed in a refrigerator for two years, and I have had seaweed and fish emulsion in my garage for two years, should they still be good?

Thanks SO much, and sorry for all of the questions!

Comments (6)

• nutsaboutflowers
    13 years ago

Hi jane4667

Could I make some suggestions that you may find helpful?