Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hank2230

I Need Advice

hank2230
14 years ago

I am new to growing from seed. I have my set-up with a source of heating for the seeds made from rope lights buried under sand (kitty litter) and maintaining temperature between 75-80F.

My heating light is 2 48" GE daylight 32 cool natural light bulbs, 6500 color temp. The inside of the flouresecent cover is painted black, is this bad news, maybe should be painted white?

I am thinking of using paper pots (2.5 x 4" deep) for my seeds and placing them on an aluminum tray on top of the "sand" until they germinate and then moving them to the growing lights. Lights will probably be set at 2-3" above the seedlings. If I fill the pots about half full of growing soil is it probable that my seeds will exist, thrive or die under this plan. Thanks to all who can assist me.

Comments (5)

• oilpainter
    14 years ago

The containers--actually mushroom boxes with holes or small fruit or salad containers--hold 2 inches of dirt. The only problem I have with your plan is getting the plants out for transplanting. if they are paper pots could you not fold the top down It would give more strength to the pot.

As for the black--black absorbs heat and light and white reflects it. I would think the white would be better, but I don't grow under lights so maybe someone else can give you a definitive answer. From what I've read here your 2-3 " is about right

As for the aluminum tray I don't think it would be a good idea. Too Aluminum will heat and though warm is good for starting plants hot isn't. Get yourself a plastic planting tray

• hank2230
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks for your response oilplanter.