Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jewelbeetle

any lupine growers around?

jewelbeetle
14 years ago

Hi there! I have some lupine seedlings and I don't know if I should plant them outdoors the temps may go under 32 sometime within the next month or they may not. Anyone have them coming up outside? They say there bi annuals does that mean they won't flower this year?? I am new to these flowers can't you tell? Any help will be appreciated.

Comments (15)

• sleepy33
    14 years ago

They might not flower this year, depends on the variety. They have a taproot that they don't like to be disturbed, so they might resent transplanting when you put them out. I direct sow them. I soaked and nicked mine a week or so ago and put them out.

• sherri09
    14 years ago

I wintersowed these last year & planted them out in the spring. Almost all of them made it but you do have to be very careful during the move. They grew all summer last year, but were no where near big enough to bloom. I am hopeful they will bloom this spring. These were Russell Hybrids.

This was my first time growing them so I am by no means an expert, but hopefully this helps you some.

• sarahbarah27
    14 years ago

When you do transplant them, and I would give it some time just to be safe, be sure to dig the hole extra big to allow the root to grow easy and handle them carefully...they won't resent the move as much this way. I usually have good luck with the Russell Hybrids. But last year I tried a different type called 'Sunrise', which is an annual type and it did poorly for me...but it was a rough growing year around my area and that may have had something to do with it. Direct sowing really is the safe way to go in the future, they reseed a lot in my gardens too. I start them early inside only when I want them in a different garden or to give away.

• jewelbeetle
    Original Author
    14 years ago