Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
scg_

Too early?

How many of you either think or know you started your seeds too early? I couldn't resist and started most of my seeds a week ago. Looking at the size of the plants I started one month ago (they were as a test since it is my first time) and a last frost date of about May 16 I am starting to get scared I won't have enough room under my lights. Are you in the same boat?

Comments (5)

• wreckitriz
    11 years ago

Yep. :)

I figure ill give away most of my tester plants and start new ones tomorrow.

• mandolls
    11 years ago

I can never resist either, but this year I found a number of annuals that take a long time. They satisfy my growing needs. the Begonias and Lisianthus that I started in Jan are still tiny. The lettuce arugula, cilantro and basil I planted in Jan I am eating now :)

I also started Geraniums, Petunias and bedding Dahlias really early. That was maybe a mistake as they are already in 9 oz cups, and I am hoping they will stay happy for another 2 months.

I do admit to buying 6 more lights.

Peppers and Eggplant were started this weekend. I'll start more annuals and cole crops next week, and pray that this snow melts by mid April.

• SouthCountryGuy Zone 4b-5 SE BC
    Original Author
    11 years ago

wreckitriz, I was thinking the same thing with my testers but I am getting attached to them. First flowers showed up yesterday on the Alyssum Carpet of Snow. Anxiously awaiting the Cosmos and Vanilla Marigolds to show some color!!! Fortunately I killed most of my testers or I would be move over run than I am now.

mandolls, I also have to admit to buying (ordered) another 4' 8 tube T5HO light. I wonder if there is a 12 step program for this?

• marklucas
    11 years ago