Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nbadger_gw

Pelleted Petunia seeds mush when planting?

nbadger
16 years ago

Hello,

This is my first attempt at planting pelleted petunia seeds. I am using the burpee seed starter kids with the soil pellets that you add water to. I added the water and they expanded to the proper size. I then put 15 Pelleted Lilac Wave Petunia seeds in 15 different soil pelletes and gently pressed them into the soil. I was very gentle, barely touching them. It seemed like a coating was coming off of each one but it was difficult to see so I didn't think much of it. When I got done I took a different, less expensive, pelleted petunia seed out and set it on top of one of the soil pellets that had some dirt exposed. When I touched it, it also turned to mush with no visible seed. Hopefully I'm just missing something obvious and there's nothing wrong here? Should I have made sure the soil was dry first?

I appreciate any help. Thanks.

Comments (6)

• georgez5il
    16 years ago

The seed is very small and could easly be missed.damp soil should not have been a problem. could the pelleted seed gotten damp befor you planted them?

• nbadger
    Original Author
    16 years ago

No, they were dry right out of the package. when you say they are small and could be missed are you saying I missed putting them in the soil pellet? There was literally greenish yellow stuff on the pencil I used to "push" the seeds into the soil. I'm half tempted to simply set them in w/o pushing them into the soil??

• weirdtrev
    16 years ago