Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
usmcgrunt_gw

Beginner Help Needed Please

usmcgrunt
12 years ago

I am a complete newb in the gardenig world. I was always the guy who just threw stuff in, Google'd a couple things and went with it.

This year I started started some Brussel Sprouts, Onions, Hot Peppers, Ghost Peppers, and Sweet Peppers from seed. I put them in the standard packs of like 72 individuals. I used potting soil, put a lid on, and set them on a heater.

Now my questions....The Brussel Sprouts started coming up in four days. When do I move them out? I don't want them hitting the lid but I don't want to take the lid off for the other seedlings.

I really have no clue what to do from here not how to transplant them when I have to? I have researched but can't find the exact answers. Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Comments (7)

• digdirt2
    12 years ago

First thing, the heat and the dome is used for germination only. So as soon as the seed breaks the soil surface - at the first flash of green - you want it out from under the dome and off the heat

This can be a problem if you planted lots of different things under the same dome and/or in the same cell pack as they all have very different germination times. B. sprouts a few days while onions and/or peppers can bee 8-14 days.

You will have to cut the cell packs into pieces to remove the ones that have sprouted and leave the others. If you planted all the same thing in one cell pack and only a few have sprouted remove them anyway. The rest will come along shortly or they never would have germinated anyway.

So the B. sprouts need to come out and off. Then you can let them grow a bit in that cell pack if it is only 1 or 2 plants and transplant them in a few days OR you can transplant them into individual containers now. Your choice.