Return to the Growing from Seed Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Damping Off and Long Germination Time

Posted by nutsaboutflowers 2b/3a (My Page) on
Mon, Mar 28, 11 at 19:47

I haven't been able to find information on this, so I'm now looking in the best place I can. This forum =:)

When growing from seed, isn't damping off more likely to happen when there's a cover over the seed tray? Particularly for the seeds that take a long time to germinate?

If this is the case, would it help to remove that cover for a while on a daily basis, or would that be detrimental to the germination? Can a person use prevention methods like chamomile tea or garlic or cinnamon as soon as seeds are sown, or do I have to wait until they sprout?

I'm really new at this indoor sowing, and always like to know as many details as to how and why things work.

Thanks so much for your help =:)

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Damping Off and Long Germination Time

Wow, good for you! You did your homework.

You are safe though... dampening off occures after they have germinated. You will be safe leaving the cover on 24/7 and then taking it off as soon as they germinate. There are some 'freak' instances, but 99% of the time dampening off attacks moist, hot seedlings (after germination). I hope that helps : )

Keriann~

o

The biggest problem with those seeds that take forever to germinate is the top of the soil will grow an algae and crust, causing seeds that do germinate to fail to emerge. For these problems I sprinkle a grit on top of the soil when sowing those seeds. Parakeet grit seems to easiest to find. Al

o