Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
princessgardens

mold in seed tray

princessgardens
17 years ago

why am i getting mold in my seed trays? will this affect my seeds during germination? what can i do to prevent this from happening in the future? thanks

Comments (23)

• User
    17 years ago

princessgardens,

I think you may be suffering from "damening off". I'm no expert but do a search on this term on this site and you'll find lots of advice.

I think most call for going lighter on watering and using a fan for circulation to resuce risk. I'm sure more experienced folks will chime in shortly.

Good luck,

Bill

• princessgardens
    Original Author
    17 years ago

thanks i found some info but how do you prevent it when the seeds are covererd during germination?

• User
    17 years ago

Like I said, I'm no expert but... I've read on seed package instructions that you should apply "Captan" if you get mold? Never used it myself but it did come from a reputable seed company.

I hope those with more experience will offer suggestions. If not, I suggest trying "Captan" on a few seperated cells to see if it works.

Sorry I can't offer more suggestions.

Bill

• princessgardens
    Original Author
    17 years ago

thanks again. any suggestions on soil medium.

• User
    17 years ago

I have used Miracle Grow seedling mix and potting soil. I'm leaning towards seedling mix mixed 50/50 with perlite lately.

Not sure if you can get this brand in your area (I'm in Ontario, Canada). You should be able to find perlite though. Just mix it 50/50 with potting soil and you should do ok. Perlite is great for moisture retention so you can water less.

Also, although not required for all seeds, a heating mat can be helpfull. My peppers and tomato seeds germinate well on a basic heating mat.

Bill

• User
    17 years ago

princessgardens,

How is the mold problem progressing? Have things improved?