Return to the Growing from Seed Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Question on lupine seedlings

Posted by veryzer 5a IL (My Page) on
Fri, Mar 5, 10 at 21:15

Let me preface this by saying I'm a complete novice enjoying his first attempt at growing from seed.

I bought Tutti Frutti lupine (Burpee from Lowes) and did a nick and soak. They began germinating by day two, after which I put them under the metal halide with tomato seedlings. The tomato seedlings look great but the lupine haven't done much. The ones that have germinated are still curled and hugging the soil line for the most part. Is this normal or the sign of a problem?

Some possibly relevant info:

I've let the cells dry (beneath the surface) before watering.

The lamp is 24" above the seedlings with a temp. of ~72 on the flat and ~60 at night (8 hrs.).

A fan is blowing on them for the daylight period.

I might not have planted the seed deeply enough. I buried the seed root end down and covered with 1/8-1/4" of mix.

Input is appreciated.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Question on lupine seedlings

How deep, and what kind, is your soil mix? Lupins have a tap root, and may not like a shallow container. They also like consistently moist soil, and they don't like wind. Maybe shield them from the fan?

Sue

o

I'm using promix seed starter and the cells are 2.5" deep, though the mix doesn't come all the way to the top. I don't think they're developed enough for the taproot to be an issue, but if they like consistently moist soil, that would definitely be an issue.

o

Lupines like cool weather. Is there any way you could get them ~50 degrees? I bet they would take off for you. Mine do well in any soil, but I would get them into a larger pot to keep their roots cooler while they are waiting to be transplanted in the Spring, but don't plant them deeper then what you started them at, they can not handle it.

I hope that hepls

Keriann

I am glad you enjoy the process as well! It is half the fun : )

o Post a Follow-Up