Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
emcd124

Will this work as a grow light?

emcd124
11 years ago

I'm relatively new to seed starting, and have usually just WSed the ones I want. This year though I'm trying some hot peppers and other things that dont WS well. So I got a seed starting tray to start them indoors. I dont have the space or inclination to invest in a very large shop light set up for grow lights.

At Menards I found a desk lamp with a fluorescent full spectrum light in it. The brightness is 1600 lumens. it says it is 5500k "daylight" bulb.

I'd really like to use it because it is inexpensive, sufficient for my single 40 cell tray, and stores small (and I can use it as a "happy light" in the off season). But I have no idea how to tell if it is high powered enough to do a darn thing to help the seedlings avoid getting leggy.

Thoughts from more experienced growers?

Comments (7)

• SouthCountryGuy Zone 4b-5 SE BC
    11 years ago

While it is inexpensive it will prove to be inefficient for 40 cells.

• digdirt2
    11 years ago

sufficient for my single 40 cell tray,

Sorry but that's not nearly enough and it also isn't a big enough footprint (area of coverage) for the average 40 cell flat. Shoot for at least 2x the lumens minimum and double the coverage area if possible.

It is the length of 4'shop lights that give the best footprint of coverage over a standard tray. With it the average tray gets equal light at the edges as in the center.

Dave

• emcd124
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Okay, so it sounds like if I head over to Home Depot or Walmart (I've been trying to read up on the old threads) I should be able to find both a fixture and some bulbs that are at least 3200 lumens? and where the footprint of the bulbs is at least as big as my tray. Are there other measures I'm supposed to look for. People keep talking about "T" like T8 and T12 or something but I've no idea what that means.