Return to the Growing from Seed Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Paper pot seedlings

Posted by apr522 none (My Page) on
Wed, Mar 7, 12 at 21:43

This is my first year attempting to start my garden from seed. Last year I had one raised garden bed and some pots that I did the basics in (herbs, tomatoes & peppers) and it was wonderful!
This year I wanted to get my kids involved in the process and thought I would attempt starting from seed. We live in MO and this past Saturday we started planting some of our seeds. My 6 year old (along with the help of my mom) mastered making paper pots and so we decided to start some of the seeds in these. Yesterday (day 3) all of my kale sprouted and today (day 4) I have my basil has sprouted. I took them out of the "greenhouse" set up I had and moved them to my south facing front window. I am also supplementing with a 5-bulb adjustable lamp with grow bulbs to equal about 10-12 hours of light per day.
However, now that they are out of the moist germination stage/environment, I am noticing the paper pots are drying up & I'm not sure how to water them without damaging my new plants. Yesterday I misted the bottoms & around the paper pots but I would like to get some advice before I start down the wrong path & risk over-watering.
Thank you for any help in advance!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Paper pot seedlings

I have used paper pots and found it easier to water if they are in a cake pan or similar. Crowd them to help keep their shape, then just pour some water in at a corner and tilt until it wets the bottom of all the pots. They DO dry out badly, as bad as peat pots, which is why I don't use either any more.

o

Thank you! I do have them in cake pans separated by variety. Yes, these paper pots seem to really dry out. Any advice on how to keep them moist?