Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
archernut

what to do after germination

archernut
16 years ago

Hi ya all

I've never had any success with starting seeds inside.

I planted marigolds and petunias in jiffy 72 pot. I followed their instructions and had great germination. I took top off after all were germinated and about one inch tall. After 4 to 6 days every thing wilted over and died.

They were in my dining room on the table with natural light from the window. House temp is 68 to 70. I waterd when pods dried out to a light brown.

I am new to this and just wondered what to do after I take the top off? Everything seems to germinate ok and look healthy until the top is completely off.

Please help. I would like to transplant flowers to pots this spring without spending a fortune at the nursery.

Comments (7)

• tuscanseed
    16 years ago

Considering that gas prices are driving up the cost of everything, it wouldn't surprise me to see doubled prices for flowers this year. You've overcome the hardest part of sowing seeds in getting them to germinate! Somewhere in the FAQ under Growing from Seed Forum, read about damp off. In addition to that issue, when you remove the lid completely, you are drastically changing the microclimate for your seedlings in an immediate way. By doing so, you are not giving them a chance to adjust to changed temperature and humidity. It's sort of like going into shock. What you can do is start the seeds the way you have been, then after germination, gradually open the lid a little bit over time, at the same time run a small fan to get some air circulating near the seedlings, and provide a stronger light source than natural light from a window. There are several factors coming into play with your seedlings, however, you can overcome these issues and be successful in growing out healthy plants.

• genern
    16 years ago