Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bhoneycutt_gw

Tomato seedlings....

bhoneycutt
12 years ago

So i sowed these from seed about a month ago and this is how they look. Is this normal or should they be a lot bigger by now? also color looks a little off to me but this is my first year growing from seed so who knows. I made a huge mistake and planted them in some ghetto generic potting soil which i think could be some of the cause coupled with cooler temps in my garage. Suggestions to salvage? Peppers and herbs seem to be doing fine.

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j39/briandabest/IMG_20120312_210309.jpg

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j39/briandabest/IMG_20120312_210243.jpg

Comments (8)

• digdirt2
    12 years ago

For month old seedlings they should be much further along so Yes, the odds are it is the potting mix. You said potting soil, correct? Soil-less potting mixes work best for germination. Soil mixes compact in small containers and prevent root development. To fix you just transplant them into a quality soil-less potting mix and they will take off.

They are also leggy which is a lighting problem but can be fixed if you will transplant them deeply - bury all that stem.

The peat pots is a whole other issue but they also contribute to the problems.

There is a great FAQ here with pics on "How to grow tomatoes from seed" you might want to check out.

Dave

• bhoneycutt
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Yeah Im pretty sure I used this
    http://www.walmart.com/ip/Earthgro-1-Cubic-Foot-Potting-Soil/16904048

Do you think it would be worthwhile to transplant or should I just restart from seed with a better mix (if I have enough time) or scrap it buy seedlings and try again next year?

• digdirt2
    12 years ago

It is definitely worthwhile transplanting them as long as you transplant them deeply and use a decent mix. They will quickly catch up.