Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
c2399

Blackberry Lily Seeds

c2399
12 years ago

Do you have to cold stratify blackberry lily seeds? This is my first year starting anything but zinnias and I am lost! :/ I tried to research online and many places are saying yes--anyone know if this is true or not and for exactly how long? Want to get them sprouting ASAP since it seems I'm behind on this (just got them), however from what I'm reading I'm going to need a lot of patience!

Thanks!

Comments (6)

• rockguy
    12 years ago

When in doubt, stratify. They look like grass when coming up so be careful you don't weed them out. I used to have a clump of the plants and saved seeds one year to plant but I just don't remember if I planted them fresh/dry/stratified, sorry I can't help more.

• morz8 - Washington Coast
    12 years ago

No, they really don't need it. On the other hand, if you did want to sow outdoors it won't hurt them either, will just slow down germination until temps aren't quite so cool.
    Belamcanda chinensis (blackberry lily) , Surface sow or barely cover at 68F (some light may be beneficial to germination) under constant humidity, germination slow.

You might add this database to your bookmarks/favorites for referencing future seeds - It's one of a few with reliable suggestions.

Here is a link that might be useful: Clothiers

• nhardy
    12 years ago

Yes, they look like iris. Dad grow this from seed from Parks years ago. They looked like irises but the flowers.

• c2399
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thanks everyone! That is good news (no stratifying).

Thanks for the picture gardenweed. They look cute! I'll try planting some tomorrow.