Return to the Growing from Seed Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Troubleshooting

Posted by ahismah 5b (My Page) on
Sun, Mar 6, 11 at 23:44

This is my first year seriously starting from seed indoors, rather than direct sowing and buying plants. I've read, read, and then read some more...but now that we've started I'm thinking that we've gone astray somewhere.

5 days ago, I planted 2 varieties of onion seeds. I soaked them for 48 hours, then planted in a 72 cell jiffy tray filled with sterilized organic jiffy seed starter mix. The starter mixture was vaguely moist, enough to produce some condensation, but not a ton. I covered it with the clear plastic lid, with some fabric over that to keep it dark (per online instructions that I found).

Today, we noticed that most of them had germinated, although the seed pods were still on the stems. We removed the lid and noticed some fungus - that white hairy stuff. We took off the lid and put the lights on for a few hours (2 T8's - daylight - about 2-3" over the seedlings.

I checked a few hours later and the seedlings were all limp and laying on the soil surface, although the fungus seemed to be clearing up. The potting material was pretty much dry, so I bottom watered and covered it back up for the night.

Does that sound like the right tactic? I know that it's bad to overwater, but everything was so, so dry...I was actually pretty shocked that they even germinated. Still, we have some fungus issues and I know the water will exacerbate that.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Troubleshooting

First I never germinate Onions in the dark! I plant them and they go under the lights asap no more than 16 hours with the lights on per day. The seed on the tips is normal. Always water well "after" sewing. They wilted because the sudden change from dark damp to bright heat. The fungus usually is soil born or from unsterilized containers.