Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ashley_minnig

Has anyone started Tidal Wave Petunias??

ashley_minnig
15 years ago

Hi Everyone,

Anyone want to offer me some advice of growing Petunias from seed indoors?

I just started two and a half flats of them and really don't know all they need?

How much Light, when to give fertilzer, when to transplant, Whats the best germination temp? Questions Questions! Thanks ahead of time to all who respond to this post!

Comments (32)

• emlovestogrdn
    15 years ago

hi, i started some tidal wave petunias one month ago in my basement with standard issue shop lights. One bulb is cool light and one is warm light (I read that simulates the sun most closely). They took forever to germinate, and they are TINY! But they look pretty healthy. I havent fertilized yet, need to research that. My basement is about 65 degrees air temp. I am a newbie seed starter, hope this helps a little.

• ashley_minnig
    Original Author
    15 years ago

emlovestogrdn,
    Thanks for the post! I am glad yours are germinating, I sure hope mine will too!
    I do need to learn how to grow these, having started about 35 of these and the seeds are not cheap! ha ha. My lights are two fluorescent tubes over the trays with clear dome on top, I have two cool white type bulbs. Hope that is okay??

I sure could use some guidance by someone who's successsfully grown these before. I am afraid I will mess things up! I have started lots of vegetables before but this is the first time I ever started flowering annuals! If you'd like you can keep me posted on your success of yours in your basement. Any information would be helpful!
    Thanks again and Good Luck!
    Ashley

• scaly
    15 years ago