Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chele519

Lighting question

chele519
12 years ago

I've read thru posts and looked at pictures and can't seem to find a definite answer.

I recently bought one of those wire shelving units from Sam's. It works great and I have 4 flats on 2 of the shelves. I have 3 of the Home Depot shop lights on each shelf. I'm new to this and wondering if the lights need to be directly over all the plants? The flats stick out a little on the front and back so they are not directly under the lights in those areas but of course some of the light spills over. I try to not use the full amount of the tray so that there are very few that are not right under the lights. Should I move those plants on the end to another shelf with another light or is it ok the way it is? I see some people look like they only have 2 lights on those same shelves in some of the light setup pictures but I can't be sure.

Either way, I will need to be picking up another light soon as I've been transplanting like crazy and they won't all fit. I bought the box of Philips cool white but I'm wondering if with the next box I should go with the daylight deluxe and mix them in with the cool whites? Do they make a big difference for the price?

Thanks

Comments (7)

• mandolls
    12 years ago

Sticking out "a little" is kind of vague. If you notice the plants on the end leaning dramatically in towards the lights, then you might want to rotate them every few days with ones in the center. Mine stick out almost 2" past the lights and I dont notice any difference in the plants.

I personally am sticking with the cheaper cool white bulbs. I am not trying to get anything to flower or fruit inside. Even in zone 4 we are getting warm enough weather that I have started moving the older/bigger seedlings outside on my screened-in porch during the day. They get dappled "full spectrum" light out there, and give me room to start new plants under the lights.

• chele519
    Original Author