Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bpmontilla

Getting disappointed when planting zinnia from seed.

bpmontilla
11 years ago

Okay, first of all, I live in a tropical country, the Philippines. I have seen zinnia grow here very well. I get really disappointed while planting zinnias by seed because they grow so lanky, and so feeble.

When I grow them, I just basically put some soil in the pot, put the seeds, and then lightly cover the seeds, then I water. But after a few weeks, they grow too high but too lanky and then they just basically lie down and eventually die from i dont really know what.

Could someone please help me? What am I doing wrong and how can i make these zinnia seeds grow and become flowering plants? :(

Comments (12)

• tanyuu
    11 years ago

I'm a novice too, so take my advice with a grain of salt- it sounds like they're not getting enough light.

• digdirt2
    11 years ago

after a few weeks, they grow too high but too lanky and then they just basically lie down and eventually die

Causes: not nearly enough sun/light, over-crowding, too warm/too much heat.

Dave

• susanzone5 (NY)
    11 years ago

Put them in full sun and fertilize them with Miracle Grow, full strength. Pinch the tips off when they have about 4 true leaves...this will make them produce side branches with more flowers. Space the plants about 8 inches (20cm) apart. Pick off the dead flowers so they will keep producing more flowers.

• bpmontilla
    Original Author
    11 years ago

I replanted the other seeds i still had in a paper egg tray and put it in my windowsill facing the east. They're looking nice even if they're still small. Is it advisable to plant zinnias facing the east?

• ellenrr
    11 years ago