Return to the Growing from Seed Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
old bag of pro-mix bx

Posted by allsmiles (My Page) on
Wed, Apr 6, 11 at 8:24

Hello, I am new to germinating from seed and found an old compressed bale or Pro-Mix BX in my shed, and was wondering if I should still use it. I bought it about 5 or 6 years ago, and has been in the shed ever since (including winters). I live just outside of Toronto, Ontario, so our winters are not too bad.

The compressed bag is still intact (never been opened), but it is so old I am not sure if it would still actually work as a seed starter, or if I should just use it as topping in the garden or compost it. Any suggestions?

Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: old bag of pro-mix bx

The bag of Pro-Mix may be used wut will be HART to re-hydrate

o

The people at Pro-Mix actually responded to my question as follows:

"Due to the age of the product, it would be fine to mix it into the garden versus using it for starting seeds. As this product ages certain chemical additives breakdown and are no longer effective; i.e. wetting agent (now product is hard to wet), fertilizer charge (no longer present) and possibily the limestone has been activated (reducing it's effect on pH). Therefore, mixing it into soil is the best alternative. The peat moss, perlite and vermiculite in the product will help the soil be more porous and allow better drainage. "

So I guess I'll have to buy new...unless anyone actually has experience with 5 year old BX.

Thanks for any help!

o

I had sone 9 month old Pro-Mix BX with Biofungicide and it had lost its anti-fungus properties after that time, and I could see mold growing on the surface of my seed starting mix, whereas with a new bale of the same stuff I see no mold and never get any damping off problems.
I am guessing after a year one of the other kinds they sell, Pro-Mix BX with Mycorize, the beneficial fungi would probably be dead