Return to the Growing from Seed Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Removing Domes from Seedlings

Posted by bucklesnbows (My Page) on
Fri, Apr 3, 09 at 9:39

Hi,

I am a long time lurker and first time poster.

I started seedlings this year in a typical 72 cell seedling tray with dome. Some of the seedlings have outgrown the dome so I thought "fine, I'll just remove those from the cells and let them grow sans dome". Well as soon as I removed the dome the new sproutings keeled over. So I placed a clear cup over them and they perked right up. A week later they are starting to outgrow that and I want to remove the cups. I removed them today and over they went again.

How can I get them to live without a dome? Is there a general rule of thumb on when you should remove the dome?

The seedlings in question are daisys and I am going to have to remove the domes for the tomatoes and cilantro soon as well.

Thank you!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Removing Domes from Seedlings

I'm just a newbie at gardening and growing from seed, but everything I've read has said to remove the dome as soon as the sprouts appear and get the plants under lights (or sun if you situation allows). That's what I've done so far and everything I've started is doing well (broc, cauli, parsley, and peppers). From what I understand, too much moisture/humidity (as would be the case under a dome) is bad for plants. No idea why yours seem to do better that way. Maybe someone wiser than me can chime in.

o

Yes, luke is correct...remove the dome a day or so after seedlings sprout. If you have a mixture in the mini-greenhouse (sprouting at different times), then just remove the ones that have already peeked through. Put them in sunlight, keep them watered (peat pellets dry out quickly) and transplant when you feel it's necessary (remove pellet netting). - Steve

o