Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
angelhair45

Can I put transplants out early if weather permits?

angelhair45
14 years ago

This is my first year growing from seed. My question is, if the soil is warm enough outside can I put my transplants out even if they aren't sizable yet? I'm mainly referring to peppers and tomatoes. I didn't really start them till early March. Do I have to follow the 4-6 week rule or the 6-8 week rule? Is this based on weather or how big/tall the plant needs to be before transplanting to the garden? Thanks for any info you can give me.

Comments (7)

• oilpainter
    14 years ago

Those are not rules. They are based on the length of time it should take to reach the size needed for transplanting. A Tomato or pepper should be at least close to 6 inches before setting out and have a good root system. The latter is the most important. Small seedlings just don't have a good root system and are more fragile. They are easily killed by adverse weather conditions.

In addition your soil must be warm. If you can't dig under the first layer of soil and feel the warmth then it's too cool for Tomatoes and peppers

• angelhair45
    Original Author
    14 years ago

The soil is definitely warm. It's been in the 90's. I have watermelons and cucumbers among other warm weather crops growing that were direct seeded. I have a group of tomato starts that are much taller than the rest and thought they may be tall enough to go out, but they aren't quite 6 inches yet.

• digdirt2
    14 years ago

They are your plants so of course you can set them out whenever you wish as long as you understand the risks, that the odds are not good for them, and you are willing to accept the results - be they good or bad. There won't be any "plant police" who come along and arrest you for plant abuse. ;)