Return to the Growing from Seed Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Tomato Seedling Question

Posted by philsno1 pa (My Page) on
Wed, Apr 21, 10 at 10:25

Hello, newbie here, I read on this forum a lot and now I'm finally a member. Anyway, I planted some tomato seeds in peat pellets a few days ago and I have some that have sprouted. I followed the packets instructions and put about 3 seeds per pellet. Problem is that all of them are sprouting. My question is at what point do I remove the weaker two seedlings? Should I do it now or wait awhile longer? I have a picture of it but I don't see an option to post a pic, thanks.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Tomato Seedling Question

here is a photo

http://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/P24r8cHqwULIHa77EoJSlQght0UmRyKP-xP9CHtUyAg?feat=directlink

o

Ouch ;-)

Quick.... Get those seedlings under better / brighter lights..

You can cut them anytime, I still haven't cut mine yet,I'll wait until I transplant out into the garden ,just to make sure which is stronger.... You , on the other hand, cut the long tall ones.... they are way too long (from ,not enough light) if you are using a fluorescent light fixture,the seedlings should be touching the bulbs (or as close as possible),you do not want tall seedlings (they are the weakest ones, cut them..

4-18-2010

o

I agree with John. You need to get your light much closer to them so they will be stocky.

After they set their first true leaves then you should plant them up to those leaves in another container before you plant them outside in a few weeks. Make sure you cut off the netting when transplanting them into larger containers and keep them on the dry side and bottom water.

You will have great maters in a few weeks : )

Keriann~

o

In your case I think I would cut off the long , first to germinate seedling NOW. Get the light right down close to the soil and do not put the plastic back on. You have been given good advice. Al

o