Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lisa_z5ny

Germinating and growing in same pot?

lisa_z5ny
9 years ago

Hi, total newbie here to starting seeds indoors!

Can you germinate and grow seedlings in the same medium/container? Can I start my seeds in commercial seed starter mix of some sort in yogurt cups and then just grow them in it until they are ready to transplant outside?

If not- when I transplant them as seedlings when they have their first few true leaves or whatever, what do i transplant them *into,* and does that need to be sterile too? Regular potting soil? Is that sterilized? I have big bags of vermiculite, peat and compost left from last year's garden (square foot garden)- can I mix my own potting soil from those components for the little seedlings to be transplanted into indoors, or do I need something sterile?

Thanks much!!

Comments (4)

• digdirt2
    9 years ago

Lots of complex questions in your post Lisa. Lots of details to supply to answer all of them and most are discussed here in detail in the forum FAQs and in other posts.

But basically,

Can you germinate and grow seedlings in the same medium/container?

No, for many reasons. One the main ones is that many seedlings require at least 1 transplanting to trigger the development of feeder roots.

Can I start my seeds in commercial seed starter mix of some sort in yogurt cups and then just grow them in it until they are ready to transplant outside?

Probably not. Depends on the seedling of course and the mix you use. All plants have different growing rates. So would need to know exactly what plants we are talking about. Seed started mix is only for that - starting the seeds. Then they need to be transplanted into a growing mix and yes it is a sterile potting mix too. Never use any kind of potting "soil" in a container.

Can you mix your own? Yes, there are many recipes for doing so. But compost isn't sterile and usually causes both pest and disease problems when used on young seedlings.