Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
njitgrad

hardening off schedule for newbie

njitgrad
10 years ago

This is my first year growing from seed, and so far so good. I am keeping my fingers crossed that everything goes according to plan.

I have a question about hardening my seedlings. Normally I plant (my veggie flats from the local garden center) in the ground on May 15th so I need to start planning a schedule for hardening off my own grown tomatoes & cukes.

Can anyone offer a newbie some advice on this? I leave my house at 800am every day, come home for lunch between 11am-12pm, and then back home again at 530pm.

1) Is it 1 hour on the first day, 2 hours or the second day, 3 hours on the third day, etc....If so, I'll have to start on a Saturday.

2) Should be seedlings be set exclusively in the shade?

3) What if it is rainy, windy, or below a certain temp on a given day? Do I treat the next day as a do-over of the day that was missed?

Comments (8)

• mauch1
    10 years ago

nhitgrad