Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
waterstar

Can I grow seedlings in garage and roll them outside every day?

waterstar
9 years ago

Has anyone tried growing their seedlings in the garage on rolling shelves and moving them outside every day? The garage faces south, so they would get direct sun...can seedlings take that?

My greenhouse is not built yet and I will have more seedlings than I can handle in my house.

Here in 7b the night temps should not be too cold and if I do get a cold snap I could carry them all indoors for the night or run a heater.

I'm new to seedlings, but not to gardening. I'm germinating them with the paper towel method.

What do you think? THANKS IN ADVANCE...( :

Comments (8)

• digdirt2
    9 years ago

Not into direct sun. Not without hardening them off first and that is a gradual process. Any pronounced change in environment - temp, heat, sun exposure, wind, etc. requires a period of adjustment for the plants first or you can kill them within hours. Even GH plants still have to be hardened off before going outside into direct sun.

If you can tote them back and forth as needed then you will need to find a shaded, sheltered area out of the wind outside for them and then increase their exposure a few hours at a time over several days.

Dave

• ZachS. z5 Platteville, Colorado
    9 years ago

If I'm to understand you right, you would only be keeping them in the garage during the overnight hours? Otherwise, their whole lives, from germination forward, would be spent outside in direct sun and exposed to the elements? If that's case, hardening off shouldn't be required.