Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nevadamama

Purple Stems on Tomato Seedlings - Advice Needed!

NevadaMama
11 years ago

Hello! This is my first time starting seeds and I thought I was doing ok - please someone tell me I'm not doomed! I started my tomato seeds in trays under two grow lights (fluorescent under-cabinet-type lights) on March 17. They took approximately 5 days to germinate. I noticed the stems looking purple on March 30th and knew I needed to move them up to bigger pots immediately but my babies were sick so I'm lucky I even remembered to water them. I just moved them into 10-oz styrofoam cups yesterday in a mix of 50% seed starter and 50% organic compost (commercial, not home).

Here is my setup and some close-ups - they are 19 days old today (peppers are on the right, they are fine with no purple at all):

{{gwi:236454}}

{{gwi:236456}}

{{gwi:236458}}

I am going to go to the garden center and get some fish emulsion as soon as my babies wake from their naps today. Do these look salvageable? I really hope they are ok, I don't want to have to start over! I am in Northern NV (near Tahoe) and have about 5 weeks to go before I can move them outside. Any advice or constructive criticism is welcomed, thanks so much! :)

Comments (7)

• digdirt2
    11 years ago

This is perfectly normal and quite common. It poses no threat to your plants.

The so-called "purple stems and leaves" issue is simply a result of their young age and inability to uptake nutrients well at this stage. That, especially if combined with cool temps, causes the appearance and as the plants mature it disappears IF they are provided with proper nutrients.

Whether your compost will provide them or not is highly questionable given that container mixes lack the active soil bacteria required to make compost nutrients available to the plants.

However your plants are also very leggy and need to be transplanted much deeper - bury most all that stem right up to just below the leaves.