Return to the Growing from Seed Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Where did my leaves go?

Posted by Penguinz 5 (My Page) on
Mon, Apr 4, 11 at 19:14

This is my first time growing from seed. Round one went pretty poorly I think I over-watered most of the plants and 90% died. I started rounds 2 and 3 (some I started using the papertowel method some i put in a jiffy pellet on a heat mat) Almost all the seeds germinated with the exception of some tomatoes that I fried due to the heat mat being too hot.
My seedlings were looking pretty coming up, I went to bed I cam back this morning and some of my bell pepper plants were just stems!
This isnt the first time this has happened, so far it has always been the bell peppers (but that could just be due to location)This seems to happen when I turn the light out at night mostly.
One of my main concerns at this point is my Bhuts are finally sprouting, If I find them as only a stem it is going to get ugly.
What can I do to protect my babies? I dont think I really have time for a round 4 of planting.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Where did my leaves go?

• Posted by morz8 Z8 Wa coast (My Page) on
    Mon, Apr 4, 11 at 19:41

I don't know what kind of setting you have your seedling flats located in....roly poly/pill bugs are one possibility in a damp setting, a mouse is certainly another.

o

Highly doubtful of a mouse, my cats have proven they are very good mousers. there is a door to a crawlspace right there though so I could duct tape it off and see if that helps.
I did see a centipede down there the other day when I was moving trays around a little-could that be a potential culprit?
It is my laundry room in the basement, I was worried my cats would be the ones wreaking havoc but they have ignored it so far.

o

Any slime trails? Slugs or snails can get indoors and cause mayhem if they find something green and tasty. Check under the pots and trays and underneath between the cells if they are in modular trays.

o