Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
iheartroscoe

Mold on Soil...

iheartroscoe
16 years ago

I'm new to starting seeds indoors and I just started some vegetable seeds a couple of weeks ago. I noticed a white colored mold on the sides of my peat pots and was hoping this was safe around the vegetables.

I looked up some suggestions on how to get rid of the mold, but nothing I saw applied to vegetables. Is the mold because of the peat pots? I was thinking that maybe I should have used plastic pots.

Comments (7)

• digdirt2
    16 years ago

It is a chronic problem with peat pots. Most folks tend to keep them way too wet and that encourages the growth of the fungus.

If you let them dry out some it will die off or you can mist it with a 10% hydrogen peroxide and water solution. It isn't normally harmful to the plant unless it gets overwhelming. It also helps to have a small fan circulating air in the area of the plants. Especially good for the seedlings and helps keep the fungus under control. Remember, fungus needs moisture and heat to grow - dry and cooler temps kill it off.

Next time - go with plastic. ;)

Dave

• iheartroscoe
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thank you for the suggestions!

I think I learned my lesson with peat pots :)

I'll let the soil dry and get a small fan for air circulation.

Thanks again!

• craftlady07
    16 years ago

I've got mold too, but it's time for me to thin and pot up my seedlings. I can just throw out the wasted/wet peat pots and the soiless starter mix and just plant the seedlings in plastic 72 ct cell packs with miracle grow potting soil, right?

• arjo_reich
    16 years ago