Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cvinson_gw

Eggplant leaves yellowing, ideas?

cvinson
11 years ago

Hi everyone,

This is my first year growing eggplants, and I may have a problem. The lower leaves on one side of the plant are yellowing and dying. The initial leaves did that, and I wasn't too concerned, but now two larger leaves have as well. Otherwise the plant seems vigorous.

I did some searching and found "Fusarium wilt". Is that possible using bagged organic pro-mix? Or am I being paranoid?

I also thought that it might be due to fertilization, which I did twice (fish emulsion, 50% strength).

Any thoughts on what I can do if anything? Thanks!

Comments (4)

• digdirt2
    11 years ago

"Fusarium wilt". Is that possible using bagged organic pro-mix?

No, not possible.

Indicates that the root development can't support the new top growth so older leaves die off. Causes: over-watering, over fertilization, root bound plants, etc.

As big as it is how long until it can go to the garden?

Dave

• cvinson
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Well, thats a relief.

It grew amazingly fast, I started it 6 weeks before last frost here in Montreal (May 3), as indicated on the package. Germinated in 3 days on a heat mat.

It is very likely I am over watering/fertilizing. It seems like if I don't water every 2 days, it wilts considerably, so I give in.

I can see dense roots in the 4" pot. This probably means I should re-pot, given another 3 weeks before transplant, even though eggplants don't like being transplanted, correct?

• runswithscissors
    11 years ago

I grow eggplants just for fun...since I do not like to eat them. They grow fast...and all sources say they hate to be transplanted....in my humble experience, I don't find that to be so. If your careful, just like when you transplant anything, they recover nicely, and quickly show you how much they like the extra leg room. I think that is what yours need. Is it possible they need a squirt of iron?

• dirt_farmer