Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kawaiineko_gardener

what vegetables don't do well with transplanting?

Certain veggies I know you should plant them where they're to grow, because they just don't do well when you try to transplant them.

I can think of a few off of the top of my head, and they are:

*Watermelon

*Cantaloupe

*Zucchini

*Summer Squash

*Butternut squash

*Acorn squash

*cucumbers

However these are the only veggies I know for sure you should avoid transplanting. What are other vegetables that should just be avoided like the plague when it comes to transplanting them?

Comments (10)

• ashncarson
    15 years ago

I guess I don't understand (newbie here) what you mean by "transplantng".(I understand the term,but not in this context) .Are you saying these certain plants grow best from seed in the place you want them? What about store bought plants? I did zucchini last year and it grow great after bringing it home to plant.

Please explain! (hope I am making sense)

• retiredprof
    15 years ago

Kawa: In addition to your list, I have found that root veggies do not transplant well (radishes, carrots, parsnips, beets). Also, peas.

Prof

• bcskye
    15 years ago

Kawaiineko, I've never had trouble starting seeds of the ones you mentioned inside, then transplanting into the garden at the proper time. Retiredprof is right, though, root veggies do not transplant well.

• novice_2009
    15 years ago

Beets, carrots, radishes, and onions to name a few. Even in peat pots, it just doesn't work. These need room to grow and form strong healthy roots.
    Cucumbers don't transplant well? I've had success with that.

• tn_veggie_gardner
    15 years ago

One I learned this year...onions, as previously stated. :-\

• hatchjon
    15 years ago

Onions work fine as transplants. I grew Copra last year from seed, started inside in a flat and then transplanted out. Many nurseries and mail order companies sell bunches of onion seedlings as well.