Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
flo9_gw

Flower seedlings stopped growing

flo9
9 years ago

This is my first time trying flowers from seed. My gaillardias and red robinson daisies were doing great then for the past month at least I've seen no growth on them and a few died. I have them in cups. Seems when I took them outside slowing introducing to the sun is when they stopped growing.

The soil is a pre-bought potting soil that has always done most things I grow well with it.

Any ideas what is going on and if there's a simple solution to get them growing again? My flower bed I have ready is all organic top soil soil, potting soil and organic compost. I don't think they'll survive if I plant them in the perm home. They're all only a couple inches tall.

Comments (5)

• digdirt2
    9 years ago

The 2 most common causes of stunted growth and plant death are (1) over-watering leading to root rot and (2) lack of nutrients.

You don't mention what size "cups" these couple of inches tall plants are in and small plants in big cups are easily over-watered. And you don't mention anything about feeding or fertilizing them either. If they are over a month old and have developed true leaves then they very likely need to be fed.

Top growth shouldn't always be the focus either - root development is what is important. Plants grow in cycles so it is very possible that they doing just fine and more patience is needed.

Dave

• flo9
    Original Author
    9 years ago

They're in a small sized styro foam coffee cups. I transplanted them from starters I made and transplanted greatly and kept growing until a month ago.

Being under lights I had to keep up with watering daily since the soil dried quickly. Now being outside I have to less water ( they get about 4-7 hours of sun), Only a few times soil was more on dry side outside.
    My smudging sage quit growing too in the cups at same time and the mint. Yet everything else keeps growing... peppers tomatoes etc..