Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
julia_c

Starting Perennials/Biennials from seed

julia_c
11 years ago

Hi everyone, I'm very new to growing from seed. So far lots of success with the annuals, but I would also like to try starting some perennials from seed. From what I've read so far, summer is a good time to begin the seeds. So my question is what happens to the seedlings over the wintertime? Should they be transplanted to the garden before first frost or should I pot up and continue to grow them under lights indoors through the winter and transplant in spring? I'm in zone 6 and while this past winter was extraordinarily mild, we can also have harsh winters. Not sure if this info helps, but I'm particularly interested in starting some siberian irises and some digitalis.

Julia

Comments (4)

• morz8 - Washington Coast
    11 years ago

Julia, siberian iris (and most iris) will usually germinate best if given a period of moist warm condition, followed by several weeks moist cold, then will germinate when temps are a little warmer but still cool. Several weeks each of approx 65F sown moist, then 40ish or overnight freezing, which is followed by germinating while temps are right around 50F. I like to sow and place the pots outside in Fall, let mother nature take care of the cycles. You can duplicate what would happen to them if self sown by the plant when ripe by sowing and keeping the pot warm a few weeks, moving it to your refrigerator for a few weeks, then end with a cool room, still taking care to keep them damp/moist. It's that last cycle I can have a problem with, I don't have a good place to provide that 50ish range - unless I put the pots outside.

The digitalis should germinate, surface sown, in about 14-21 days. That should give you time to plant out in Fall with them having time to establish before harsh weather.