Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tbschemer

Germinating with Inadequate Grow Lights

tbschemer
13 years ago

I'll start out with some background. Being a resident of California, I've never before had to worry about micromanaging growing conditions- I've always just stuck my seeds in the ground, kept them watered, and let nature do the work. However, I recently bought some more finicky seeds (alpine strawberries, watermelons, ground cherries, and a few mint varieties) and discovered that this strategy doesn't work as well with them.

So, now I'm trying to be a bit more careful, germinating them in flats indoors. I'm fully aware of what kind of grow lamps I should be using (4 40 watt 2' fluorescent bulbs, two daylight, two cool white), but the problem is, I have no way of mounting a fixture like that. I'm a college student living in a dorm, so I can't exactly put screws in the ceiling. So instead, I bought two desk lamps and put 40 watt daylight fluorescent bulbs in them, in the hopes that I wouldn't have to keep the seedlings inside for very long.

The system that I'm going by is:

1. Indoor flat with lamps and misting until most seeds in each 9x9 segment have germinated.

2. When most seeds in a segment have germinated, transfer it to a flat tray that I have sitting outside in the shade.

3. Once true leaves form and plant looks established, transfer to permanent pots in full sun.