Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
badlydrawndee

Seedlings - failing, help! (pictures)

badlydrawndee
10 years ago

Newbie question here! I have never successfully grown plants from seed before. I am doing vegetables in peat pots this year and my radishes sprouted very quickly, but seem to have gotten tall without making any leaves and are now droopy and lazy.
{{gwi:239533}}

My lettuces seem like I cannot revive them
{{gwi:239534}}

And some of the peat pots have grown mold
{{gwi:239535}}

Any advice would be greatly appreciated! It's just gotten warm enough for me to move these outside, I think, but given their fragile nature at the moment, I'm hesitant.

Pls help!

Comments (4)

• tnmom2four
    10 years ago

Hi there,

I am relatively new to seed starting and about to post my own problem, but I am pretty sure your issue is that you do not have an adequate light source.

You need to go to Home Depot and buy a full spectrum flourescent light bulb set. I use a hanging dome and it holds two long flourescent tube lights. I don't use the special "plant" lights. I tried those, but got better results with the cheaper full spectrum lights. I use one soft bulb and one bright white bulb.

My plants have never been leggy, but I am careful to keep the plants about 2-4 inches from the light source!! I will prop up the tray with books, etc. and as they grow, removed books, so that I am always keeping those lights above my light source around 2-4 inches.

Also, looks like you are loving your plants way too much if they are getting mold. Hold way back on the watering!! Just sprtiz them with water in the morning- give them a good soak and ONLY water if you see the peat starting to get light brown.

BTW, I use those same Jiffy peat pots and have had excellent results. I am sure there is an even better growing medium but for beginners, those peat pots are easy and work.