Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
indica_2010

do birds eat nasturtium?

indica_2010
13 years ago

Hello everyone,

I am really a newbie here. This is the first year I am trying to grow plants from seeds.

Well, last night I had kept 2 hanging baskets of nasturtium(nearly 3 wks old) outside in the balcony of my apartment. Morning I wake up to see that the leaves neatly eaten away and just the main stem being left in one - when I came outside after a few minutes, I saw a bird with my plant in its beaks!! it had ripped out another nasturtium!!

So disappointed! I wud like to know - do these birds eat nasturtium?? anything I cud do differently next time - as I have already put seeds in that basket.

Any suggestions please...

Comments (6)

• oilpainter
    13 years ago

I have never heard of birds eating Nasturtiums or any plant. I've seen them eat the petals off of the apple blossoms but I think that was more to get the nectar.

More than likely the bird was gathering nesting materials and a bare stem seemed it him it would make a good addition. Check your basket for earwigs. You'll have to take a flashlight at night to do it. I'll bet that was the culprit that ate your leaves.

• indica_2010
    Original Author
    13 years ago

well, no earwigs in basket.

yes, I also think - that the bird just pulled the stem for its nest. I did see leaves scattered around basket - so maybe the bird just nipped off leaves too? well, it did not happen today and I hope it does not happen again.

• indica_2010
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Actually the nasturtium basket is intact - but alyssum - there are only 8 seedlings now..and I cud bet there were 11 of them total! and no signs of alyssum leaves/ seedlings scattered around. the basket soil looks slightly dug up..

hmm.. everyday I am losing one or the other seedling...how do these insect/rodents actually climb up and eat seedlings from baskets that are hanging from a ht?

• Dawnzig
    9 years ago