Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mjjgm

Lamb's Ear Seedlings - not looking so good

mjjgm
13 years ago

Hello,

Newbie here, first year trying to grow various things from seed.

I have Lamb's Ear that I planted from seed about 6 weeks ago and have been growing inside. They have been laying down flat (is this normal??) for awhile now and since they are about 3 inches long and have two sets of leaves on them, I figured they are good to begin hardening off. For the last few days, I've been putting them outside for a few hours and extending the time.

The plants at this point are not looking healthy at all - they are still not standing upright, and on some plants their second set of leaves are turning yellow.

Any help for these little guys or are they goners?

Should they have been upright the whole growing time? Do my issues I mentioned sound like dampening off? Or too little or too much water? I never know how to tell if they get the right amount of water. If I had to guess, I'd say they might be overwatered.

Comments (5)

• keriann_lakegeneva
    13 years ago

It sounds like too much water.

How have you been watering them? and at what frequency?

Keriann~

Dampening off would kill them before they turn yellow...doesn't sound like dampening off to me.

Oh, and I woudl keep them inside until they look a little better...let me/us know about the water schedule you are on.

• mjjgm
    Original Author
    13 years ago

I water them from the top, pouring a small amount of water on the soil. On occasion I mist the leaves. I used to water every day, lately I've switched to every other day since I was thinking maybe it was too much water. Perhaps I should back off even more?

Lately our humidity has been very high due to a lot of rain (which I bring seedlings inside when it rains) so that might be part of it too.