Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
keeval_gw

quick question re: moving seedlings outside

keeval
11 years ago

I am brand new to growing from seed, unless you count the seed we planted in a milk container in kindergarten, over 40 years ago.

I have started some corsican mint from seed. They are very tiny seeds (invisible in the dirt) that germinate into fragile looking seedlings. I have about 50 4" pots of seedlings. They germinated a week ago and I have been keeping them under florescent lights. Today, I moved them outside to the front porch, which gets almost 100% shade, except for a bit of filtered light starting around 4:00 p.m.

At this point, can I just leave them on the porch, 24 hours a day, moving them into direct sun little by little (i.e., more each day) until they seem ready to be planted? Or, should I bring them back inside this evening, maybe give them some more time under the lights, and put them out again tomorrow? Temps in the coming days are supposed to hit 90.

Also, will leaving them out increase the chances they pick up gnats or bugs? I don't want to bring those back inside, if so.

Thanks!

Comments (7)

• digdirt2
    11 years ago

Can you leave them out? No Hardening off is a very gradual process done a few hours at a time - like for 2 hours the first day, 4 hours the second, etc.

Lots of discussions here just full of info about how to harden off plants and I linked the FAQ below.

Dave

PS: and yes on the bugs question.

Here is a link that might be useful: Hardening off FAQ and discussions

• keeval
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Oops. I have left them out for about 4 hours already. I'll bring them back in now and increase the time over the next few days. Thanks, Dave.

I had looked at the FAQ's before, but got the impression (apparently, mistakenly) that hardening off was for plants that weren't cold hardy, and many of the vegetables. I didn't know if it also applied to the mint.

• digdirt2
    11 years ago