Return to the Growing from Seed Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
alyssum legging

Posted by indica_2010 7 (My Page) on
Thu, May 13, 10 at 17:44

Hello everyone,

I am a newbie here. I sowed seeds of alyssum (carpet of snow)in a 14" hanging basket - seedlings came out - however, it has been nearly 2 weeks and they still have only 2 leaves - and no signs of true leaves...
I live in an apartment and have kept the basket near the balcony window(but inside the house). I also have nasturtium in another basket - that seems to be doing gr8.
My question - Is there anything I can do or am I simply over reacting? any suggestions wud be really helpful.

thanks

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: alyssum legging

From when I've planted them in the past, they need a lot of sunlight, and they like it cool, especially at night. They are considered early bloomers in our zone (5), so if you're in Zone 7, you should leave them outside instead. Also, even if you've only got 2 leaves, they are probably busy growing roots. You've got a big basket to fill!

o

Put them outside. Alyssum is a cool weather plant. It will reseed outside here in zone 3. They do take a while though to grow into a decent sized plant. It will probably benifit from the cooler night temperatures outside. Don't worry about frost if you are still getting some. Allyssum does not freeze easily; it takes a very hard frost to kill them

o

Thanks a lot...started with bean and oilpainter,

I have kept the basket outside. Do u think - starting with few hrs/day and then proceed with whole day and night wud be ok?

Another question..I had put some 10-12 seeds and got good results - so, now there are 10 seedlings in that 14" basket with 2" space - wud that be too crowded when they all grow up big?

Thanks again

o