Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pwysoc

maple tree seeds

pwysoc
17 years ago

Hello I am new to planting, and to this forum. It is spring right now and Maple tree seeds are falling from the ground. Do I have to break the dormancy first before I plant them, if so, how do I do it. Then when they are ready to be sown, does it have to be a certain season? Or could i grow it inside by a window. Also can someone give me a breif procedure about how to sow a seed. Thanks

Paul.

Comments (34)

• wgafaw
    17 years ago

I don't think you have to break dormancy. Recently all the Maple trees behind my house just dropped all their seed and they are sprouting everywhere. It's all I can do to pull them all out. Of course these are the 80-100 foot varieties, so I don't want them growing around my house.

JP

• morz8 - Washington Coast
    17 years ago

Most maple (acer) do need to be stratified (given a moist chill) before they will germinate. The seedlings you are seeing now are likely from last years seeds.

Do you know which maple?

Acer in general: sow outdoors in Fall, or soak 48 hours, sow to barely cover seed, moist warm 60 days, moist cold 60 - 90 days, followed by 65- 70F. Depending on the type, germination may take anywhere from 30 - 365 days.

• wgafaw
    17 years ago

I doubt they are from last year as they are appearing in my winter sown containers which just had the tops removed about a month ago.

Thanks
    JP

17 years ago

Still, MOST maple do need to be stratified; you may have one of the very few which do not.

Clothiers - Maple (Acer)
    "Acer buergerianum , Trident Maple ,zone= 6 , sow @ 39ºF for germ. in 6 to 8 weeks
    Acer campestre , Field Maple ,zone= 4 , sow 4 wks @ 70ºF, move to 39ºF for germ. in 3 to 6 months
    Acer capillipes , Red Snake Bark Maple ,zone= see A. pensylvanicum
    Acer carpinifolium , Hornbeam Maple ,zone= 5 , sow 4 wks @ 70ºF, move to 39ºF for germ. in 3 to 6 months