Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cocoabeachlorax

Apple Seeds have sprouted, now what ?

cocoabeachlorax
13 years ago

Hello,

We succesfully sprouted some store bought apple seeds in the fridge and transplanted them into an old egg carton, 11 tiny seedlings are sprouting new leaves each day and growing well.

I have zero experience growing things from seeds.

I know that these little guys will not likely produce fruit, or if they ever do it may not be palatable, that's cool, I just want a tree to grow.

Living in zone 9 what are the chances of an apple tree surviving our heat and sun ?

At what point do I transfer them to a larger pot considering they are in the cup of an egg carton right now ?

At what height would you try putting them in the ground, if that is advisable in my zone ?

Any other tips on keeping these little guys alive are very welcomed. Thank you so very much.

Comments (7)

• calistoga_al ca 15 usda 9
    13 years ago

Apple trees will grow very well in zone 9 California. I have no experience with apple trees in a humid zone 9 like Florida. Your seedlings should be transplanted out of the egg carton with the growth of the second set of leaves. I would suggest going into a four inch pot, each in its own pot. When the pot is well rooted I would go to a one gallon size. Next winter when the tree is dormant I would plant into the garden. Al

• digdirt2
    13 years ago

Agree they need to be out of the egg carton ASAP. 4" pots will be good for approx. 2-3 months for apples depending on your fertilizing schedule and will allow you to get them outside and properly hardened off. Plan on 8-10" pots for them by mid-summer and that will be good until next spring assuming a 3 month winter dormancy period at which time they can be planted in the ground.