Return to the Growing from Seed Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Growing From Seed

Posted by Sklotus 5b (My Page) on
Fri, Jun 13, 14 at 3:00

Hello, my name is Soto and I am somewhat new to the whole gardening scene. I would like some advice on growing some plants from seed.

Ok so, i have received some supposed Yoshino Cherry Flowering seeds along with Mammoth Russian Sunflower seeds, Acer Rubrum seeds, and finally some Blue Wisteria seeds.

If anyone has any info on stratification/germination methods, any growing tips or any advice in general would be greatly appreciated. I was looking to turn a few of these into bonsai trees but i would like to focus on getting these babies started.

Additionally, i would like to get these seeds planted ASAP.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Growing From Seed

• Posted by morz8 Z8 Wa coast (My Page) on
    Fri, Jun 13, 14 at 12:34

Sunflower - direct sow about a week after last frost, placing seed about 1" deep.

Acer rubrum , sow at once upon ripening, or soak, then sow approx 9 weeks at 39F (stratify, a period of moist cold), then move stratified seeds to 70F for germination

Wisteria from seed can take more than 10 years to bloom if you were wanting a blooming bonsai, seed grown wisteria is typically used only in grafting for root stock. Sow about 3/4" deep at 65-70F, should germinate in 30-60 days.

Prunus x yedoensis (Yoshino Cherry):
2 - 3 months cold stratification and is best sown as soon as it is ripe. Sow in a cold frame as early in the year as possible. The seed can be slow, sometimes taking multiple cycles of fluctuating temperatures, 18 months to germinate.

o

Ok so what method should i use to stratify/germinate?
Is there any way to speed up the stratification/ germination period for the Punus x yedoensis?

o

• Posted by morz8 Z8 Wa coast (My Page) on
    Fri, Jun 13, 14 at 15:50