Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sonia_rj

Growing Lantana from seed? (Newbie here)

Sonia.RJ
9 years ago

How do I grow Lantanas from seeds? I did some research and it says you're supposed to soak the black berries in warm water for 24 hours (which I did) and cover it with soil in temperatures between 22 and 26 celsius but since I'm in Sri Lanka, temperatures are currently from 29 to 32 C and won't go down to 26 until October or November. So would it be pointless putting the seeds under a small layer of soil?

Comments (8)

• Sonia.RJ
    Original Author
    9 years ago

I haven't tried cuttings but I'd like to use seeds so that I could get a different colours of the flower because mine is just yellow. Should I use seed starting soil pellets? Because 5 of the seeds I have planted haven't sprouted since

• art33
    9 years ago

Hi Sonia,

First of all, Lantana seeds are very hard and practically impervious to moisture. I have always found it hard to germinate Lantana seeds. The trick is to scarify the seeds by nicking them deeply or even slightly cracking the seed coat. I had my first success after cracking a few seeds by squeezing them in a vise :-) The seeds are also rather slow to germinate, usually between one and two months.

Hope this helps,

Art

• dbarron
    9 years ago

I have never found a lantana here of the ones that I grow that did not go through a winter before germinating...probably a result of that impervious to moisture seed coat referenced above.

• Sonia.RJ
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thanks for the tip Art, I'll try that next time! :)

• joyfulflowers
    9 years ago

Hi Sonia

I was thinking about growing Lantana in my garden until I read up on it. It's extremely invasive and one plant can produce something like 1200 seeds. There are other negative things about it which you should read up on before deciding to plant it in your garden. Just giving a heads up on it.

• poisondartfrog
    9 years ago