Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
slimak_gw

plants seem to stop growing

slimak
10 years ago

I'm growing few vegetable plants from seed under lights and after transplanting the sprouts into their own individual pots 6days ago they seemed to stop growing. They're not dying but just are not getting any bigger than they were. Can someone tell me what could be wrong and what I have to do to get them growing again?

Comments (17)

• calistoga_al ca 15 usda 9
    10 years ago

It is normal for transplants to experience a check in their growth lasting up to 2 weeks. Did you transplant into potting mix or a peat based mix? The photo looks like peat which can get hydrophobic and not accept water readily. Al

• slimak
    Original Author
    10 years ago

The radishes are in the peat based mixed. I just thought that it would be easier for them develop since it's not that compact as potting mix :) I'm new to gardening and still learning. The bok choy plants are in a potting mix with some peat moss on top only.

I've read somewhere that after transplanting the plants should be in a shade. Since I'm growing under lights should put the lights further away from the plants or decrease the time they are on??

When is it really a good time to transplant plants from germination cells. I see that some people do it after first 2 true leaves appear , some say 4 leaves, some say after the roots start coming out of bottom holes??

And finally, should I not use the seed starting mix to transplant in bigger pots ans strictly use potting mix?

Thank you for your help Al :)

• galasoneth
    10 years ago

There are still a lot of variables here but here are a few thoughts. Are you feeding the seedlings at all? Are you using just straight Peat?

Transplanting. Really depending on the area you can transplant anytime. The major factor is frost sensitive plants. Pests can be another factor. If you are really curious experiment. Plant a couple types outside and see how they do.