Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
julieann_grow

Lowes light choices

julieann_grow
17 years ago

I have the choice (from Lowes) for light bulbs of the "Plant and Aquarium" or "Sunlight". I thought of doing one bulb each in the 2-bulb fixture I have. I am growing vegetable seeds inside.

What do you experts think?

Comments (28)

• webkat5
    17 years ago

I would start them outdoors, but if you must start them inside....just get one warm and one cool (the cheap will work just fine).

• calistoga_al ca 15 usda 9
    17 years ago

If you have a light meter and check the difference between indoor light with the light from adding electric lights, compared with outdoor light in the shade, you will see why Webkat recommends starting outside. Al

• julieann_grow
    Original Author
    17 years ago

That's interesting. I'm really new to the whole gardening thing, but an observation that I made this weekend was the tomato plants I have in pots outside have grown much faster than the ones I have under the lights.

And, I swear I remember my cukes and squash just growing like crazy when I direct seeded this last Spring.

So, I think I don't get the concept?? For instance, I have tomato, squash and cukes growing under lights, waiting for the Aug 15-Sept 1 planting dates. Why wait? Why does it matter if they are in the ground now or growing under lights?

I understand the concept for some plants that do better as transplants, but what about those where it is recommended to sow outdoors or inside?

• webkat5
    17 years ago

Julieann, go check out the Winter Sowing forum....

Any plant that germinates and grows outdoors will be stronger, healthier, have a MUCH more extensive root system and will be more productive than those grown under artificial conditions.

Here is a link that might be useful: Winter Sowing

• pickwick
    17 years ago