Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
schellehawk89

Crepe Myrtle Seed Pods

schellehawk89
16 years ago

I really need to know if you can take crepe myrtle seed pods from the tree before they turn brown...the tree I want them from is going to be pushed down soon. I would let them dry out at home if they can be taken now. Please, if you know, let me know ASAP. Thank you.

Schelle schellehawk89@yahoo.com

Comments (9)

• wishiwrineastex
    16 years ago

If they are mature enough when you remove them from the plant, they should be viable once they dry out. If they aren't, they won't. Take some off the crape myrtle as late as you possibly can and give it a shot. What have you got to lose?

• schellehawk89
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thank you wishiwrineastex,
    I've already had to take them off of the tree. I have left them on the branch, though. I don't know what to do with them next. I've never done this before. What should I put them in and where? Do they need light and warmth? I have no clue. They are a little larger than a green pea. I just truly hope they work, because the tree is going to be pushed down really soon. Thanks for your response. I need all the help I can get. What do I need to do with them to dry them out? Please let me know.
    Schelle

• tnangela
    16 years ago

Growing Crepe Myrtle from seed requires large amounts of seed. Out of seven or eight large (and some dwarf) Crepe Myrtles, I end up with only a handful of seedlings each year. I would be happy to give you some seedlings but there is no guarantee as too color. Most turn out fuschia to red to purple.

A better alternative for you is to dig/cut some large roots from around the base of your GF's shrub and plant them. Shoots will come out from them rather easily.

• schellehawk89
    Original Author
    16 years ago